Skip to main navigation
Skip to site navigation

University Links

School of Music Links

Orchestra: 2017–2018 Season

In addition to the concerts found here, the orchestra regularly collaborates with the choral division for Masterworks concerts and the annual spring opera.

Purchase tickets

Orchestra of the Pines: "Beethoven's Seventh"

October 2, 7:30 p.m.

Prelude to Hansel and Gretel by Engelbert Humperdinck

Saxophone Concerto by Henri Tomasi, Scott Augustine, saxophone

O vin, dissipe la tristesse from Hamlet by Ambroise Thomas, Juan Garza, baritone


Symphony No. 7 in A major by Ludwig van Beethoven

The SFA Orchestra of the Pines opens the season with Beethoven’s mighty Seventh Symphony. Packed with bravura and majesty, Beethoven’s work is a fitting season opener. Joining the orchestra are guest soloists and SFA concerto winners, Juan Garza and Scott Augustine, performing concerti repertoire showcasing the beauty of the their instruments.

Orchestra of the Pines: "Charismatic Capriccios and Dynamic Duos"

November 14, 7:30 p.m.

Orchestra of the Pines: “ Charismatic Capriccios and Dynamic Duos” November 14, 7:30 p.m. Capriccio Italien by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Concerto for two clarinets in E-flat major by Franz Krommer, Gary Jones and Cesar Montelongo, clarinets Serenade for Strings by Edward Elgar Capriccio Espagnol by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Orchestra of the Pines

March 5, 7:30 p.m.

Fans of music made popular over the past 70 years won’t want to miss the fourth installment of the concert series “Broadway, Movies and Classics” presented by Stephen F. Austin State University’s Orchestra of the Pines at 7:30 p.m. Monday, March 5, in W.M. Turner Auditorium on the SFA campus. The program will take audiences through generations of music with the tunes of popular artists such as Journey, Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, Paul Simon and much more. Concert tickets are $8 for adults, $6 for seniors and $3 for students and youth. For tickets or more information, call the SFA Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407 or visit

Orchestra of the Pines

April 24, 7:30 p.m.

Orchestra of the Pines